Di Zhao flutes

Flute History and Instrument Purchase

Moderators: Classitar, pied_piper, Phineas

Wicked Good

Di Zhao flutes

Post by Wicked Good »

Hello,

I've been a lurker, and now first-time poster on this board. My background is as a professional/semi-professional clarinetist/saxophonist, and just this January started back on flute after a nearly 20-year layoff from that instrument.

My question is: has anyone here yet tried Di Zhao's flutes? My understanding is that they are another, China-based, intermediate flute company.

I've got one that I'm borrowing now, and so far I like it quite a bit. However, my only references are my 1970s Gemmy M3, and my friend's old Haynes Commercial. The Zhao plays rings around both, but as of yet I don't know much about the company.

Any insights are appreciated, thanks.
WG

Tarandros

Re: Di Zhao flutes

Post by Tarandros »

Wicked Good wrote:Hello,

I've been a lurker, and now first-time poster on this board. My background is as a professional/semi-professional clarinetist/saxophonist, and just this January started back on flute after a nearly 20-year layoff from that instrument.

My question is: has anyone here yet tried Di Zhao's flutes? My understanding is that they are another, China-based, intermediate flute company.

I've got one that I'm borrowing now, and so far I like it quite a bit. However, my only references are my 1970s Gemmy M3, and my friend's old Haynes Commercial. The Zhao plays rings around both, but as of yet I don't know much about the company.

Any insights are appreciated, thanks.
WG
Can't say I've tried them and I'd never heard of them before your message. From the website though, it looks like the two Directors/Partners have an impressive pedigree in both flute performance and construction, including stints at Haynes and Powell:

http://www.dizhaoflutes.com/aboutus.php